States modify CME requirements amid pandemic

Twenty-six states have modified continuing medical education (CME) requirements for physicians and some other practitioners as of May 13, says the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB). 

These states and their corresponding modifications include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • California has waived CME and examination requirements for the renewal of licenses expiring between March 31, 2020 and June 30, 2020
  • Massachusetts has suspended the CME requirement for all physicians throughout the state of emergency declaration and until December 31, 2020. The state is also waiving CME requirements for anyone whose license is set to expire between April 2, 2020 and December 31, 2020.
  • Louisiana has temporarily suspended all general CME requirements and audits for 2020 (excluding CME hours required for first-time license renewal of authorized prescribers of controlled dangerous substances)
  • New York has allowed all licensees whose registrations expire between March 1, 2020, and June 1, 2020,to complete up to 100% of continuing education as "self-study," provided it meets certain requirements.
  • Texas has waived CME requirements for all physicians and physician assistants whose licenses expired/are due to expire on February 28, 2020 and May 31, 2020. The state is also automatically extending the licenses of these practitioners through August 31, 2020.

For a full listing of states and modifications, click here.